Who Am I?

Hello, my name is Chelsey Russell and I am in my second/third year of elementary education. I moved from a small town of 30 people that goes by the name of Prairie River, SK. Moving to Regina was quite a change from the small community I’m used too. When I am not busy with school I usually like to make a 4 hour trip home which is literally in the middle of the forest. I spend my time mostly outside exploring and just enjoying the wilderness.
Some of my enjoyments outside include quadding during the summer months and snowmobiling during the winter.

My thoughts on technology in the classroom is some what good and some what bad. The good being that in our society today technology is growing and growing and becoming a bigger part of children’s daily lives. It would be beneficial for students to not only learn and understand technology but learn the precautions one must take while using it. There are many beneficial ways to incorporate technology into the classroom. But this is where the bad part about technology comes into play for me. I know that their are many brilliant ways to incorporate technology, but for someone like myself who is not very technologically inclined it can be very frustrating. Another reason I think that technology may be a bad thing in the classroom is because young children become easily distracted and their main focus will be directed to the form of technology we are using and not necessarily what we are learning about. But I am a strong believer that when children open their hearts, and their minds, this is when true learning can take place. So maybe introducing technology into the classroom wouldn’t be a bad thing.
Some of the most important things in my life are my family, friends and animals Ariel(dog) and Boo(cat). I’ve almost been on this earth for 21 years and through my time here I have learnt a lot of valuable lessons. One being that you should never take anything or anyone for granted. Things happen so quickly and unexpected. Second whatever you do you should do with all your heart. If you don’t like something in your life it’s only up to you to change it. Third just be happy and enjoy the little things in life. Go do something adventurous. You’re not going to look back on life and remember the boring things you did. You’ll remember the times that you went skydiving not stayed home and watched TV. Forth be SPONTANEOUS. Life is to short to be held back by what ifs. Take a risk. Fifth but most definitely not last is just be you. Never change who you are to meet someone else’s standards or expectations. You are who you are. Don’t waste time on people that that don’t like you for you!

Overall I’m just a small town girl who wants to make a change in the world and teaching is where I plan to begin my journey. Changing the lives of one child at a time!

Leave a Reply

