Digital Citizens!

I chose to watch the The Sextortion of Amanda Todd. I thought this was such a sad and touching video. I actually hear a lot about young girls extorting their bodies on the internet and not knowing the consequences. There are so many other cases just like Amanda outs there that show the negatives of technology. I think this is a prime example that everyone can learn from. It also shows teachers, parents and many others of the precautions they should take in showing student’s how to appropriately use technology.

From this class I have learnt how the internet can be a scary thing if you don’t take the necessary per-cations, but it can also be a great place from anyone to learn and grow from the great resources the internet can offer us. I think that people shouldn’t be scared of this great piece of technology but they should educate themselves to become more confident in it. I know for one this class has made me more aware of what I post and advertise.

I think Amanda Todd’s story should help parents and teachers educate their children/students on creating a healthy and safe digital citizenship. We should know that all children are going to create a digital citizenship weather we approve it or not. So we should be one step ahead of them and start to educate them of the wrongs and rights of it.

Here is a great article I found that give tips on being a good digital citizen!

 

 

Photo Credit: ToGa Wanderings via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: ToGa Wanderings via Compfight cc

Leave a Reply

