1-2-3 Eyes On Me

Well today is the day that I start my journey into my pre-internship. Being eight and a half months pregnant and I had no idea how I was going to make it though the day. But before I knew it was the last class of the day and I couldn’t believe how fast it went by.

I walked into Mrs. C (cooperating teacher) classroom and was excited to start my day. I was nervous but I luckily had a great friend to join me, Miss. Stauch. We entered that classroom together and were greeted by out lovely, kindhearted teacher Mrs.C. She was eager to have us there with her and we were eager to be there. I immediately felt welcomed and my feelings of fear slowly disappeared.

Next thing I knew the bell rang and the tiny little grade twos and threes began to enter the room. I was so excited to meet them and learning all their names. But I knew that would be a struggle since there were so many; 23 to be exact. But I was determined to learn most of their names before the end of the day. I talked to the students as they entered the room asking them who their mornings were and such. They were all so welcoming and made sure to welcome me into their classroom with open hands.

It was a great morning but I most of all couldn’t wait to teach the introduction lesson with Mrs. Stauch. The time finally came it was right after lunch. I was nervous and excited all at the same time. Mrs. Stauch and myself went into this thing with no idea what to expect. Would this be to difficult for the students? Would they be engaged the whole time? Well it was definitely not to difficult for student and they were most definitely engaged the whole time. The students had a blast with our “getting to know me bingo.”

I did have some challenges during the introduction lesson that I knew would only get better with more practice. I found that I had a hard time with classroom management. The students would get easily distracted. The twos and threes would become distracted when the sound of students talking from the other class slowly crept up into our classroom. It was definitely distracting not only from the other students but for myself. Once the students in my class heard the noise coming from the other class they would almost try to out do them. As this happened the more id hear myself saying “1-2-3 eyes on me” and id hear half them reply “1-2 eyes on you”. I learnt that I need a better refocusing strategy. Something where I didn’t have to speak every 2 minutes. So I needed to come up with this before next class.

Overall I had a great first day at my field experience and I cannot wait for my next. I am already planning my lesson far in advance since
I unlike everyone else in my class will be going three times a week. Mondays, Wednesday and Fridays due to the fact that around November 3 I am expecting to deliver my first child:) This is just another reason why I am so thankful to be placed under Mrs. C. She is so accommodating and understanding to my situation with having a baby and continuing my journey to becoming a great educator.

One thought on “1-2-3 Eyes On Me

Leave a Reply

