Seeing Things Clearly Through Sinclair

24323472265_aa65353b0b_o

Photo Credit: uwinnipeg via Compfight cc

What can I do to make a difference?

This is a question I found myself asking quite frequently during my first two years of university and still to this day. Since before university I never knew much about residential schools and the tragedies that happen within them. It became clear to me throughout the years what exactly happen behind these closed doors and what is trying to be done to reconcile.

Justice Murray Sinclair had a lecture on February 24th at the University of Regina; I was unable to make it in person but thanks to the amazing world of technology I was able to tune in from the comfort of my couch and cuddles from a teething baby.

Sinclair presented an amazing speech on the Truth and Reconciliation and due to my experience facilitating tours of the Witness Blanket  I felt I was able to connect with what Sinclair was talking about.

When I first started my journey facilitating tours at the Witness Blanket I found myself unaware of what reconciliation was; so I did my researching found that reconciliation means the restoration of friendly relations. To reunite or mend a relation that was once broken. Before I carry one now you have a better understanding of what Sinclair was speaking about.

Sinclair spoke about how he wants to lead the path that forms a relationship between everyone and that their are no sides taken. That we will all learn to forgive; not forget but forgive. Forgiveness is a necessity when trying to form a healthy functional relationship. He spoke to the fact that not all of us may be able to form a relationship but the least we could do is learn forgiveness.

Sinclair went on to talk about the harsh reality of residential school that very little of us are educated on. He spoke to the matter that in these residential schools you were forbidden to speak your language or express and part of who you really were. These school brainwashed the victims into believing the would go to hell if they dare to speak their language. It didn’t stop their because once the residential schools were closed the effects still laid in the children of the victims. So we need to ask ourselves what are we going to do to help repair that damages that happened and the side effect that continue due to these circumstances?

Throughout this presentation I recall myself continuously asking  “what can I do”! How can I help repair the damages that have happened and how can I help others do the same? By the end of the presentation I realized that all I can do is accept what has happened and make it known to other.

So ask yourself what are you going to do that will lead you down the path of reconciliation?

One thought on “Seeing Things Clearly Through Sinclair

  1. emilyperreault says:

    Hi Chels,
    I really enjoyed reading your post. The part in Justice Murray Sinclair’s speech that impacted me the most was the part about forgiveness. This is a topic that is very close to my heart, both my dad and grandma attended residential schools. It is great that you have done research on your own to learn more about the subject. I agree that it is super important to learn about this topic and make it known to others. I took RAP training and it had a lot of great information and resources and some information on the effects of residential school, if you haven’t taken it I highly recommend it.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

